Connections

The new Acting Class began this morning, and as I was driving in I was struck by the thought that making connections is such a vital, necessary aspect of our lives.

Think about it!  And there you go, making connections. Signals firing across synapses in your brain, connecting up the neurons?  I’m not sure if those are the right terms, but I do know that is how thinking works, by connections occurring.  It is also how learning happens. From the moment we are born – before, actually – new experiences, and new information comes our way and is processed and made compatible with our view of the world by connecting to something we already know, or understand.  It is added in AND absorbed.  Sometimes it disappears completely inside the old information, and something is lost. Potential, perhaps. Possibilities.  New information that does not change us in some way is wasted.

So, the first Acting Class of the year was pretty exciting.  We shared our fears, and our insecurities with a group of strangers.  We tried some new exercises.  Some of them felt like old exercises, and were nearly lost; some of them felt just too weird and were nearly rejected.  Connections were made with old and familiar experiences, and some new thoughts emerged.  Connections were made with different experiences, and sometimes conflicting thoughts made their presence known.

During the course of the 3 hours, we all made our voices heard, and felt. We touched each other with our hands, and with our sounds.  Connections were made. We have much, MUCH to share, and much room to grow.

Thanks to all the students, who created that room.

I am looking forward to next Sunday with much pleasure and excitement!

7 Comments

Filed under voice theory

7 responses to “Connections

  1. Jean-Marc

    Hi Flloyd, Thank you. One thing that really stuck with me was the work on the archetypal ‘fool’ … I had a couple of moments of total immersion without judgement … it felt very free … almost wild. jm

  2. Michelle Wharton

    I can see that my daughter returned with a spring in her step after the first class and she was enthusiastic about what she had learnt on her very first lesson with you. She is looking forward to the coming classes.

  3. Sandra P Galvin

    Hello Flloyd. I am so glad that I conquered my self sabotage (this week anyway) and came along. It really reinforced for me how much I need to practice being irreverent and non judgmental as often as possible and how hard I need to concentrate to get out of my way. I was so aware of things I was doing and being outside of myself judging nearly all the time and I am excited to be once again striving to give myself permission and to continuously let go. I thoroughly enjoyed your company and guidance and the fresh energy of my fellow participants and I look forward to Sunday with fear and excitement.

  4. Jean-Marc

    It has been really special to see each person’s delivery of their text/monologue/poem after each Archetype … it is so enthralling. It makes possibilites seem endless.

    The use of HERO with Ariel was quite a revelation – the regular Shakespearean context was quite altered but it really worked! I will re-visit the piece with the FOOL as my delivery was so unfocused with the FOOL – will need to ask you about that next Sunday: the delivery of that monologue with FOOL had no sense or even structure … how would we work with that for an audience?

    The physical warmup routine is great and it will be so good when that becomes organically part of my process for each day.

  5. jeanmarcmanning

    Hi Flloyd. The monologue work we combined with the archetypes this week was incredible … so many insights – I was stunned by how unspontaneous and pre-formulated my approach was … I was caught up in thought and time – that was so useful using the CHILD archetype – staying in the HERE & NOW … I was so in the moment though I had no idea where the monologue was going! I am very excited about preparing scene work for next term. That is about it, am thinking of using a Prospero passage although I will keep working on the Ariel speech as a contrast. jm

  6. Thanks, Jean Marc. And congratulation on daring to go there, the place of no place which just ‘is’. Prospero would be great, and of course we never abandon any text. It’s a good idea to build an ever expanding repertoire of monologues. f

  7. jeanmarcmanning

    Hi Flloyd! The break did me some good (and has allowed me to refocus my energies) but it was so fulfilling to do the full body-voice workout again! It seems to revitize me at every level. The trust ‘falling’ exercise was a great metaphor for me and has given me some clarity with respect to my own life. As for the final delivery of the Shakespeare monologue – that was tremendous but as to the process … it just mystifies me … a sort of magic! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

